## Salem Annual Meeting Minutes January 29th, 2023

The meeting was called to order by President Jack Schlukebier at 10:50AM. Pastor Holmgren led the Opening Liturgy and the singing of "Spirit of God, Descend upon My Heart".

The Covenant was read together by each table group reading one line.

The minutes from last year's Annual Meeting were reviewed. Debbie Lee was at the meeting but her name was not recorded. Her name was added. Updated minutes were approved unanimously.

Judy Nelson expressed thanks from the Klondike Kates for the use of Salem's facilities. Mary Lou Vining-Berg read greetings from Pastor Agripa Mgaya in Magome. Pastor Patricia Zepeda from Refuge City, Pastor Fernando Vega from Amor y Esperanza and Pastor Sam Butler and his wife, Valerie, from Church of the Living God presented greetings and thanks to Salem and told us a little about their churches and their activities.

Pastor Holmgren presented some comments and thanked people for watching his videos sent out via email to tell us more about the preparations for the annual meeting.

Elaine Hause made a Committee Presentation with an open invitation to congregation members to join committees. The Missions Committee presented a video of the Youth Choir in Magome singing to Salem.

Kay Tellekson presented the proposed Endowment Fund allocation totaling \$7,819 to be distributed as follows and called for its acceptance and approval:

Mission Category: help with youth and/or pastor traveling to Magome - \$2,000
Community Category: for supplies for outreach groups such as "God's Work, Our Hands" personal care kits -\$1,500
Property Category: Upgrade lighting to LED - \$2,400
Stewardship Committee; -\$300
General Fund; -\$1,619

Congregation vote to accept and approve the proposed allocation passed.

A motion was made by Clyde Hause, seconded by Artie Lemke, to delete the following statement from the Endowment Addendum to the Constitution: "Additionally, all non-designated gifts and bequests to Salem with a value of more than five thousand dollars (\$5,000.00) shall be added to and become part of the Fund." Motion passed unanimously.

Ellen Marty presented the proposed 2023 budget of \$256,130 After discussion and explanation, Pastor Holmgren made a motion to accept the proposed budget. Artie Lemke seconded. Discussion continued with a concern from Kay Tellekson that we should be tithing 10% to our benevolence funds. Elaine Hause looked at all the things we give to, including in the restricted accounts, and found we are actually giving over 20% to various groups, missions, benevolences and outside projects.

After some discussion, Ellen said she will start keeping track of these groups listed differently (in restricted accounts) to show exactly how much is funded in total.

Pastor Holmgren mentioned Mission vs Vision and said there will be a benevolence of the month all year to bring attention and increase giving to each one adding to what is budgeted.

Janet Sell said the Missions Committee decides which organizations/missions get the amount budgeted for benevolence.

Jim Buck said we are within 1% of our budget. If we get more we can pay more.

Motion to accept and approve the proposed 2023 budget passed with only one nay.

The Nominations Committee presented a ballot for Council officers and members, positions of Committee members, representatives, and delegates. Artie Lemke nominated Nancy Wyatt for secretary, Elaine Hause seconded. Nancy Wyatt's name was added to the ballot. Clyde Hause asked that his name be withdrawn from the Nominating Committee. Clyde's name was removed from the ballot. Louise Nesdahl withdrew her name from the St. Paul Synod Assembly Delegates. Louise's name was removed from the ballot. Nancy Wyatt nominated Debbie Lee as a delegate to the St. Paul Area Synod Assembly. Debbie's name was added to the ballot. Arlyn Larson moved to close nominations and cast a unanimous vote for all nominees on the

ballot. Art Lemke seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Elected to office or positions were:

Jack Schlukebier - President Nancy Wyatt - Secretary Elaine Hause - Council member, Evangelism Committee Liaison Rebekah Elling - Council member, Stewardship Committee Liaison Norma Johannsen - Council member, Missions Committee Liaison Lana Pemberton - Personnel Committee Lana Pemberton - Endowment Committee Judy Schlukebier - Endowment Committee JR Berg - Endowment Committee Jack Schlukebier - Inter Faith Action Representative Mary Lou Vining-Berg - Inter Faith Action Representative Rebekah Elling - Nominating Committee Paul Wyatt - Nominating Committee Johni Wilczyk - Nominating Committee Keith Olson - St Paul Area Synod Assembly delegate Debbie Lee - St. Paul Area Synod Assembly delegate Debbie Lee - Lyngblomsten delegate Nancy Schmidt - Lyngblomsten delegate Art Lemke - Lyngblomsten delegate

Jack called for public recognition and thanks to Nancy Wyatt and Arlyn Larson for all they do behind the scenes.

Arlyn Larson recognized the Putzers and their leader Jack Schlukebier.

Appreciation went out to Bruegger's Bagels for their donation to our meeting. A special thanks and appreciation was given to Michelle Rodriguez for all she does in the office. Carol Olson gave her appreciation for all the congregation does for the church.

The assembled members broke into table groups to brainstorm ideas and visions for the future. Each group presented their list.

The meeting ended with the singing of "We are Marching in the Light of God". Phil Barker offered the closing prayer. Lana Pemberton moved to adjourn. Seconded by Arlyn Larson. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 1:15PM.

Respectfully submitted, Julie Reed and Jack Schlukebier Acting Secretaries

Approved by Council Feb. 20th, 2023